Perfectionism

Now it's TOTALLY WRONG!
There’s a handy mnemonic from Hoarders Support Group that I remember. It goes like this:

Perfectionism + Procrastination = Paralysis.

Now as a pedantic, I’d have to refine this equation, but this is close enough for estimations. Generally, if you want to do a thing, you can focus on all the little nitty details until they’re overwhelming. Add to that the willingness to put it all off and nothing ever gets done.

Yep. For now — at least for this post — this is a recovery blog.

That’s to say I’ve been working on several entries that are all in a state of not-quite-done-yet. And whever I keep working on them, there’s wrong things and I right some of them and when I get back to it again, there are new wrong things.

This happens to every creative sort. Every artist. Every writer. Every composer. Everyone. And the challenge is to lower the bar to a level of good enough, even when that good enough looks (to me) like crap.

In fact, in prepping myself to even start a blog in the first place, I had to come to terms with the idea that my first year was all going to be crap, much like the first season of Star Trek: The Next Generation when the writers really didn’t know what they were doing, and Gene Roddenberry wanted Wesley and beardless Riker to be the center of the show.

I’m going to need to take a while to grow the beard. The proverbial beard. My literal one needs a trim.

Image is from M&M World, London, but found on 9gag.com. I didn’t get their permission but it’s the highest-res version I could find. Thanks, 9gag.

Leave a Reply

