December and Beyond

Check In: NaNoWriMo ends tomorrow, and as of this posting I will have done thirty posts. A post tomorrow will mean I posted every day which was my goal. According to the Chris Baty rules, this means I win (Yay!). People may grumble that I didn’t actually write fifty thousand words (which I only did once, and that totally did not turn into a novel). I’m a NaNorebel and if you feel better excluding me from the true NaNoNikes then feel free. As I said before, it’s not like OLL and I entirely get along.

My reward is thirty days of robust blog entries, and that’s amazing enough I’m going to do it again in December.

That is the plan. I’m not stopping after tomorrow. My only change is that on those too-crappy-to-write-about-a-topic days, I’ll worry less about my lower word cap and more about just putting to words why that day is so crappy. I doubt that is going to lead to week after week of solid crappy-day entries.

I do worry that I will end up with day after day of gushing about Far Cry 2 or talking about my Borderlands character builds. Or games that I’d create if I had a dev team or enough wherewithal to wear all the dev hats and do all the dev work. Gaming and game design theory and storytelling (in or out of games) are all things I want to discuss, but they’re not all I want to discuss.

I want to talk about serious issues. Politics. Religion. Sexuality. How our politics and religion mess up the sexualities of our kids (and the adults they grow up to become). But these things make me rather irate. Enraged. For the moment, it’s hard to talk about such topics without breaking down into a tirade of pure venomous cynical vitriol. You see, I was wittingly lied to by my teachers and authority figures as a child, and I believed them. And then I was blamed by my community for being a chump. And I have a sneaking suspicion that, as a model of how to prepare children for adulthood in our society, this method is both cruel and ineffective. And still commonplace. This leaves me embittered.

I need to get past or resolve or circumvent that embitterment in order to talk about the issues that made me bitter. I haven’t figured out how to do that yet.

In the meantime, expect the writing to continue.

Leave a Reply

