Flustered by haters.

Angry day again, mostly due to people on the internet. I worked on a number of pieces-in-progress but found I couldn’t concentrate on any one of them. This is more ranty and less organized than my usual…um… more considered fare.

A Sacramento pastor (this guy) preached on Sunday (regarding the Orlando rampage shooting at the Pulse) Are you sad that 50 pedophiles were killed today?… Um — no — I think that’s great! I think that helps society. I think Orlando, Florida is a little safer tonight…We don’t need to do anything to help. As far as I’m concerned, Orlando is a little bit safer tonight. I stressed out because it was a reminder that people like this man are in positions of power (his is a ministry that actively disallows gays, and does so tax free. In California.). His isn’t the only person of the cloth to use this as an opportunity to hate on gays. It’s very hard for me to understand aggression that is neither retaliatory nor (literally) predatory (as in, I’m hungry and will die of starvation so I need to eat you).

I mean I do get that people only regard their besties and want to throw rocks at strangers and weirdos because infectious diseases, but we are supposed to learn to get over that because America and cheese and beer. Isn’t that standard kindergarten fare in the US?

Our presidential candidates aren’t helping. Both are preaching expanding NSA surveillance. Clinton wants to broaden the terror watch list. The Orlando shooter was on it for a while and then off it. No-one can figure out which few people from the million-or-so on the list are inclined to do terror, yet being on it is serious as a heart attack, and really inconveniences the lives enumerated on the list. Trump is using this to bolster his block-the-Muslim-immigrants platform. There’s a lot of Muslim hate which is conspicuously not Islamic State hate. It’s just strange other people hate.

I’ve been happy to see I’m not the only one suggesting we focus on the victims and bereaved. Help us all heal and move forward. Really, most of the messages out there have been positive, encouraging compassion rather than reprisal …or, confoundingly, approval of the gunman’s attack.

Leave a Reply

